Happy 200th Birthday

Three Downstate Illinois counties celebrate their bicentennial in 2021.

Lawrence County

The history of Lawrence County touches almost every historical era. George Rogers Clark marched through here during the Revolution, Tecumseh traveled through its forests, Abe Lincoln was a regular visitor, and Lawrence County is home to the first men to enlist for duty when Lincoln called for recruits during the Civil War.

Lawrence County Parade

Hamilton County

Hamilton County was formed out of White County in 1821. It is named for Alexander Hamilton, Revolutionary War hero and the first United States Secretary of the Treasury. McLeansboro is the county seat and is the hometown of the late NBA Hall of Famer Jerry Sloan.

Hamilton County native Jerry Sloan (NBA)

Fayette County

Vandalia is bursting with history and is the seat of Fayette County. Vandalia was actually established two years before the county itself. Fayette County was formed in 1821 out of Clark, Bond, and Crawford Counties. It is named for Marquis de LaFayette, French hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Fayette County Courthouse in Vandalia, IL

FREE Visitors Guide!
Request Your FREE
         Downstate Illinois
     Visitors Guide
        View Online Request Today!