Monroe County

Monroe County Monroe County
Monroe County
100 S. Main Street Waterloo, Illinois 62298


Map | Related Events | Related Articles


The lush rolling hills and fertile farmland in Monroe County make it a wonderful location to raise a family. With a population of just under 34,000, it boasts picturesque communities including Columbia, Waterloo, Valmeyer and Hecker. Despite these large towns, Monroe County also includes the smaller, quaint villages of Maeystown and Fults.

Founded in 1816 and named for James Monroe, Monroe County is located in Southwest Illinois, just 11 miles to the south east of St. Louis, Missouri.


FREE Visitors Guide!
Request Your FREE
     Visitors Guide
        View Online Request Today!